For us, winegrowing on the Middle Moselle is closely linked to respect for tradition.

OUR ETHOS

How we think -
how we work

We think that sustainable viticulture on the Middle Mosel is closely linked to respect for traditions.

Respect for tradition means first of all limiting cultivation to classic slate steep slopes in exposed locations where great wines have already been produced over the centuries.

We therefore limit ourselves to classic grape varieties in the vineyard.

We are committed to natural viticulture. Because great wines can only be created in the vineyard in harmony with nature.

We work in the cellar without any additives.

We think that the use of yeasts, enzymes and other aids in vinification creates uniformed and industrialised mass wines that counteract the uniqueness of our region.

We think that great wines from the Mosel need time. Their ageing potential and longevity have a world-wide reputation.

This has been the case in the past and should remain so in the future. This is how and for what we work.

Discover

Our wines

Just an excerpt from our extensive range of white, red and sparkling wines.

2018

Brauneberger Juffer Kabinett Feinherb

Tasting notes

Blue, grey, brown mixed slate soil, lots of quartzite, three plots below the forest line, stony subsoil, beautiful acidity play, perfect residual sweetness-acidity balance, creamy, cassis, green fruits, steel finish, peppermint, pure south-facing slope.

Food recommendation

Asian cuisine or white meat with slightly spicy seasoning.

Günther STEINMETZ

Our locations

Our wines grow and thrive on around 12 hectares of steep slopes in the surrounding cultivation area of Brauneberg and its neighbouring communities.

 

In addition to the trademark of our winery, the Brauneberger Juffer site, we also own plots in the old traditional sites of Kestener Paulinshofberg, Piesporter Goldtröpfchen, Wintricher Geierslay and Oligsberg, Mülheimer Sonnenlay, Veldenzer Grafschafter Sonnenberg and Dhroner Hofberg, from which we produce our best Rieslings and Pinot Noirs.

We introduce:

The grape varieties

The Queen of the Grapes

 

Riesling is a natural cross between Heunisch × Vitis vinifera subsp. sylvestris and Traminer clone and was probably selected from wild vine stocks in the Upper Rhine region.

It is a very old variety that may have been around for 2000 years. The home of Pinot varieties is thought to be the area between Lake Geneva (Switzerland) and the Rhône Valley (France). In the Swiss canton of Valais, Pinot noir is considered a traditional grape variety.

Chardonnay is a natural cross between Gouais Blanc (= Heunisch) and Pinot. Since the genetic differences between Pinot Blanc, Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir are small, a precise specification of the Pinot type is not yet available.

The variety was probably brought to Germany from Burgundy or Champagne. Charles IV brought the variety to Hungary (Lake Balaton) in 1375. In 1568 it was brought from Lake Balaton to Alsace and the Kaiserstuhl by Lazarus von Schwendi.

The home of the Pinot varieties is thought to be the area between Lake Geneva (Switzerland) and the Rhône valley (France). Pinot blanc originated from a mutation of Pinot Noir, which may have been around for 2,000 years. In the Swiss canton of Valais, Pinot blanc is also considered a traditional grape variety.

The variety is a mutation of Pinot noirs (or vice versa), which was already known in the 16th century. Ferdinand Regner, Head of the Department of Vine Breeding at the Federal Office of Viticulture and Fruit Growing in Klosterneuburg, assumes that the Schwarzriesling was involved in numerous cross-breedings (very often with Traminer) and represents the forefather of the Burgundy family.

This variety, which originates from France, is a cross between the almost extinct grape variety Magdeleine Noire des Charentes and Cabernet Franc.

WINEMAKERS

The people behind the wine

Since 1999, the main responsibility for the development of the wines lies with Stefan Steinmetz. This generational change not only enabled the continuation of the old winemaking tradition, but also an improvement in all areas of vinification through well-founded, newly acquired knowledge and modern process technologies.

The aim of my efforts is, to create wines that are a "fingerprint" of everything that makes up the character of a great vineyard.

STEFAN STEINMETZ

TASTE & EXPERIENCE

Visit us

We are located in the beautiful town of Brauneberg. Just a few metres from the iconic Moselle and the legendary hiking trails.

Tasting room open daily from 10:30-16:30

Für uns ist der Weinbau an der Mittelmosel eng mit dem Respekt vor Traditionen verbunden.

UNSER ETHOS

Wie wir denken -
wie wir arbeiten

Wir denken, dass nachhaltiger Weinbau an der Mittelmosel eng verknüpft ist mit dem Respekt vor Traditionen.

Respekt vor Traditionen heißt zunächst, den Anbau auf klassische Schiefersteillagen in exponierter Lage zu begrenzen, in denen bereits über die Jahrhunderte hinweg große Weine erzeugt worden sind.

Wir beschränken uns daher im Weinberg auf klassische Rebsorten.

Wir fühlen uns dem naturnahen Weinbau verpflichtet. Denn große Weine können nur im Weinberg in Einklang mit der Natur entstehen.

Wir arbeiten im Keller unter Verzicht auf alle Zusatzstoffe.

Wir denken, dass durch den Einsatz von Hefen, Enzymen und sonstigen Hilfsmitteln bei der Vinifizierung uniformierte und industrialisierte Massenweine entstehen, die der Einzigartigkeit unserer Region entgegenwirken.

Wir denken, dass große Weine von der Mosel Zeit brauchen. Ihr Reifepotential und ihre Langlebigkeit besitzen Weltruf.

Dies war in der Vergangenheit so und soll auch in Zukunft so bleiben. So und dafür arbeiten wir.

Entdecken Sie

Unsere Weine

Nur ein Auszug aus unserem umfangreichen Angebot an Weiß-, Rot- und Schaumweinen.

2018

Brauneberger Juffer Kabinett Feinherb

Verkostungsnotizen

Blau, grau, brauner Schiefermischboden, viel Quarzit, drei Parzellen unterhalb der Waldgrenze, steiniger Untergrund, schönes Säurespiel, perfekte Restsüße-Säure Balance, cremig, Cassis, grüne Früchte, Stahlausbau, Pfefferminz, reiner Südhang.

Essensempfehlung

asiatischen Küche oder hellem Fleisch mit leicht scharfer Würzung.

Günther STEINMETZ

Unsere Lagen

Auf rund 12 Hektar Steillagen des umliegenden Anbaugeländes von Brauneberg und seinen Nachbargemeinden wachsen und gedeihen unsere Weine.

 

Neben dem Markenzeichen unseres Weingutes,der Lage Brauneberger Juffer,  gehören auch Parzellen in den alten Traditionslagen Kestener Paulinshofberg, Piesporter Goldtröpfchen, Wintricher Geierslay und Oligsberg, Mülheimer Sonnenlay, Veldenzer Grafschafter Sonnenberg sowie Dhroner Hofberg,aus denen wir unsere besten Rieslinge und Pinot Noirs erzeugen.

Wir stellen vor:

Die Rebsorten

Die Königin der Weintrauben

 

Riesling ist eine natürliche Kreuzung aus Heunisch × Vitis vinifera subsp. sylvestris und Traminer-Klon und wurde vermutlich aus Wildrebenbeständen am Oberrhein ausgelesen.

Es handelt sich um eine sehr alte Sorte, die es möglicherweise seit 2000 Jahren gibt. Als Heimat der Pinotsorten wird das Gebiet zwischen Genfer See (Schweiz) und dem Rhônetal (Frankreich) vermutet. Im Schweizer Kanton Wallis wird der Pinot noir als traditionelle Rebsorte betrachtet.

Chardonnay ist eine natürliche Kreuzung von Gouais Blanc (= Heunisch) und Pinot. Da die genetischen Unterschiede zwischen Pinot Blanc, Pinot Gris und Pinot Noir gering sind, liegt eine genaue Spezifizierung des Pinot-Typs noch nicht vor.

Die Sorte ist vermutlich aus dem Burgund oder aus der Champagne nach Deutschland gebracht worden. Karl IV. brachte die Sorte 1375 nach Ungarn (Plattensee). 1568 wurde sie von Lazarus von Schwendi vom Plattensee ins Elsass und zum Kaiserstuhl gebracht.

Als Heimat der Pinotsorten wird das Gebiet zwischen Genfer See (Schweiz) und dem Rhônetal (Frankreich) vermutet. Der Pinot blanc entstand durch eine Mutation aus dem Pinot Noir, den es möglicherweise seit 2.000 Jahren gibt. Im Schweizer Kanton Wallis wird auch der Pinot blanc als traditionelle Rebsorte betrachtet.

Die Sorte ist eine Mutation von Pinot noirs (oder umgekehrt), der schon im 16. Jahrhundert bekannt war. Ferdinand Regner, Leiter der Abteilung Rebenzüchtung am Bundesamt für Wein- und Obstbau Klosterneuburg, nimmt an, dass der Schwarzriesling bei zahlreichen Kreuzungszüchtungen (sehr oft mit Traminer) beteiligt war und den Urvater der Burgunderfamilie darstelle.

Die aus Frankreich stammende Sorte ist eine Kreuzung von der nahezu ausgestorbenen Rebsorte Magdeleine Noire des Charentes und Cabernet Franc.

WINZER

Der Mensch hinter dem Wein

Seit 1999 liegt die Hauptverantwortung für den Ausbau der Weine bei Stefan Steinmetz. Dieser Generationswechsel ermöglichte nicht nur die Weiterführung der alten Weinbautradition, sondern auch eine Verbesserung in allen Bereichen der Vinifikation durch fundiertes, neuerworbenes Wissen und modernen Verfahrenstechnicken.

Ziel meiner Bemühungen ist es, Weine zu schaffen, die ein "fingerprint" von allem sind, was den Charakter einer großen Lage ausmacht.

STEFAN STEINMETZ

GESCHMACK & ERLEBNIS

Besuche uns

Wir befinden uns in der schönen Stadt Brauneberg. Nur wenige Meter von der kultigen Mosel und dem legendären Wanderweg entfernt.

Verkostungsraum täglich von 10:30-16:30 Uhr geöffnet